Eight Section Brocade

Current Status
Not Enrolled
Get Started

Welcome to Green Dragon Tai Chi and Qigong course on the Eight Section Brocade!

You should have completed the course on Qigong Basics and be familiar with certain aspects of Qigong before starting this course.

The Eight Section Brocade (Ba Duan Jin) is also known as Eight Pieces of Brocade or Eight Silken Movements. We use this practice in most of our Tai Chi and Qigong classes. This particular qigong is used for health purposes, although many martial artists practice it as well.

The eight section brocade is a very old set and has many variations. Although there are lots of variations the movements and benefits will have commonalities throughout. The names of the exercises also tend to vary. For this course we will use the names as we know them which are:

  1. Lift the sky
  2. Bow and arrow
  3. Heaven and earth
  4. Wise owl looks behind
  5. Swing head and tail
  6. Two Hands Grab the feet
  7. Clench fists widen the eyes
  8. Jolt the spine

Each one of the exercises will work a different organ, energy or function of the body. We will show you the exercises one by one and explain the purpose and intention as we go along. Then we will show you the complete set and have you follow along.

Let’s get Started

Chris BurnettEight Section Brocade